About CATO

back to homepage

CATO’s goal is to increase the professionalism and proficiency of special weapons teams and members across the state. To provide a forum for the exchange of current and relevant issues and information; maintain a secure online website; provide and/or sponsor superior training and conference programs; maintain a liaison with tactical teams across the nation; stimulate the research and development of innovative techniques, methods of operation and equipment; provide training assistance and support; and become the largest non-profit organization in the state dedicated exclusively to personnel in all levels of tactical operations.
CATO FIVE-YEAR PLAN

2017-CATO Midyear Management Meeting

History

In the mid-1960s, the concept of special weapons and tactics teams was first conceived and implemented by the Los Angeles Police Department. Since that time, law enforcement agencies across the country have realized the need for specially trained and equipped police personnel to resolve an ever-increasing number of dangerous situations. No matter which acronym is used (SWAT, SRT, ERT, etc.) these teams of highly trained professionals are tasked with resolving some of the most hazardous of all law enforcement incidents.

The California Association of Tactical Officers CATO) believes there is no acceptable casualty rate for law enforcement personnel. In particular, CATO has focused its efforts upon improving the safety, education, and sharing of vital tactical information among its members.

Mission Statement

CATO is a non-profit, non-political organization. CATO is organized exclusively for charitable purposes within the meaning of Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. CATO was established as an organization “of tactical team members by and for tactical team members.” With over 38.3 million residents in California and over 80,000 sworn law enforcement officers, CATO’s mandate is to provide information, training, and resources to its members.

CATO BYLAWS

Membership

Membership in CATO is open to current and honorably retired sworn police personnel, active or reserve duty US military, and support services personnel for law enforcement agencies. CATO invites other individuals to submit membership requests for review to the board.
Any association is only as good as its members and their participation. For this reason, CATO is seeking a large, diverse base of highly motivated and skilled participants.

Regions & Representatives by County

Region 1: Butte, Del Norte, Humboldt, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity
Chris Jacoby, Redding P.D. cjacoby@catonews.org

Region 2: Contra Costa, Lake, Marin, Mendocino, Napa, Solano, Sonoma
Rustin Banks, Solano SO rbanks@catonews.org

Region 3: Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Mono, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Sierra, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tuolumne, Yolo, Yuba
Josh Barnhart, Placer County SO jbarnhart@catonews.org

Region 4: Alameda, Monterey, San Benito, San Mateo, San Francisco, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz
Ben Tisa, FBI (Ret) btisa@catonews.org

Region 5: Fresno, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare
Matt Alexander, Fresno SO malexander@catonews.org

Region 6: San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura
Mike Perkins, Santa Barbara SO mperkins@catonews.org

Region 7: Los Angeles
Ryan Peterson, Torrance PD rpeterson@catonews.org

Region 8: Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino
Travis Walker, San Bernardino PD twalker@catonews.org

Region 9: ImperialSan Diego
Travis Norton, Oceanside PD tnorton@catonews.org